Host Institution


SDSN Uganda is hosted by Makerere University, in the College of Agricultural and Environmental Sciences.

Makerere University is the oldest and largest public university in Uganda, and one of the most prestigious universities in Africa. The University is made of 10 constituent colleges and has multi-disciplinary faculty staff and infrastructure that is used for training, research, community engagement, and capacity building. The university offers undergraduate and graduates training in agriculture, business, computer science and information technologies, education, engineering, environmental, health sciences, humanities, and social sciences, and law. Makerere University has built global and regional partnerships and networks and has implemented projects supported by various donors and UN Agencies. As a public university, Makerere University works very closely with the Government of Uganda, the civil society, the private sector and the media to advance knowledge generation and dissemination. College of Agricultural and Environmental Sciences (CAES) is one of the 10 constituent colleges of Makerere University.

The College is a leading training and research institution in the East African region working to advance training, knowledge generation, and service delivery in order to enhance agricultural development, sustainable natural resource utilization, and environmental management.

The College comprises of three Schools:

  1. School of Agricultural Sciences
  2. School of Food Technology, Nutrition & Bio-Engineering
  3. School of Forestry, Environment, and Geographical Sciences

It has two research institutions:

  1. Makerere University Agricultural Research Institute, Kabanyolo (MUARIK), and
  2. Makerere University Biological Field Station in Kibale (MUBFS)
  3. School of Forestry, Environment, and Geographical Sciences

The College offers both undergraduate and graduate programs in the fields of agriculture, agribusiness, biotechnology, land use management, agricultural engineering, food science and technology, environmental science, forestry, and geographical/spatial sciences.